Update on cruising to and from France

A temporary concession has been introduced for British or Channel Island nationals wishing to visit some ports in France this Summer. The ports included in the temporary concession are: 

  • Saint Cast 
  • Saint Quay
  • Lézardrieux 
  • Tréguier 
  • Trébeurden

The concessions will run for the Summer season from 01 June to 30 September 2023.

Visitors to the above-named marinas will therefore not need to call at any permanent Points de Passage Frontalier (PPF) port, such as Saint Malo, Le Légué or Roscoff. 

On arrival 

The official Declaration of Arrival / Departure Notice should be completed and sent to the port’s authority. A copy of the Declaration for the temporary status ports will be available to download from each of the port’s websites. The Port Office in the marina concerned will then forward the completed Declaration to the relevant maritime authorities in Saint Brieuc. 


All visits must start and terminate in one of the ports listed above. Only one copy of the Declaration is needed per boat and should be completed and sent to the email address of the departure marina. The marina office will then forward the completed document to the authorities in Saint-Brieuc. Once validated, a copy will be returned to the marina for onward transmission to the boat concerned. The boat will then be clear to leave the Schengen Area.

If you have any questions regarding visiting France, take a look at the the Boating Abroad in France page or email the RYA Cruising team.



Add Comment